Webinar: Deep Fakes: Innovate, Facilitate or Regulate?

Posted on 24th February 2020

From election meddling and disinformation to celebrity revenge porn, a form of AI known as “Deep Fakes” has created fear among global regulators. The US Congress introduced twelve bills that ban or regulate the technology and the Trump Administration marked it for future export control action. But why is it so controversial? The technology behind Deep Fakes has the power to improve medical diagnosis, help astronomers map the stars, improve autonomous vehicle safety, and even save civilian lives in war. It could also be key for democracies competing on AI development.

On the back of the recently cancelled SXSW conference, we will broadcast our session via a live webinar on 8 April from 11 am EDT/3 pm BST. Join our panellists as they examine what deep fakes are, why they are so controversial and if there are there redeeming use cases. Find out more about the panel here.

Speakers:

When: 8 April 11am EDT/8am PDT/4pm BST/5pm CET

Register now

Back to document archive