International Symposium on 5G and Driving the Benefits of Big Data

9:00 - 15:15 (UTC +7) | 3:00 - 9:15 (BST)

International Symposium Co-organised by the International Institute of Communications

and The Office of National Broadcasting and Telecommunications Commission, Thailand

24 June 2021

(Hybrid Event)

at

Auditorium Hall 2,

Office of National Broadcasting and Telecommunications Commission

 

Programme:

Opening of event: Andrea Millwood Hargrave, Principal, Millwood Hargrave Ltd

Welcoming Remarks by Chris Chapman, President, International Institute of Communications

Opening Remarks by General Sukit Khamasundara, Commissioner & Acting Chairman, The National Broadcasting and Telecommunications Commission of Thailand (NBTC)

9:00 – 9:40 am (Bangkok)

03.00 – 03:40 am. (UK)

12.00 – 12.40 pm. (AUS)

22.00 – 22.40 pm.  (East Coast, US)

 

Keynote address:

Interrelations between 5G and big data – why the one feeds into the other

9:40 – 10:00 am (Bangkok)

03.40 – 04.00 am. (UK)

12.40 – 13.00 pm. (AUS)

22.40 – 23.00 pm.  (East Coast, US)

 

Session 1: Strategies for driving 5G.

Now that commercial launches of 5G are underway. We have an opportunity to compare the different strategies being adopted internationally and consider what are the success factors for investment and adoption in respect  of:

  • The evolution of infrastructure: current and future plans to support 5G.
  • Encouraging demand
  • Policy making and regulatory principles.

Questions:

  1. What should governments do to promote investment and to improve the quality of backbone infrastructure for 5G connectivity?
  2. How does 5G affect/ improve the business model and create value in a business value chain?
  3. Do you think 5G is the key for post COVID-19 economic recovery?

Moderator: Ajarn Sudharm Yoonaidharma, Commissioner, Energy Regulatory Commission, Thailand; Chairman, IIC Thailand Chapter

Speakers:

Dr Wilhelm Eschweiler, Vice President, Federal Network Agency (BNetzA), Germany (pre recorded)

Infrastructure provider:

Guillaume Mascot, Head of Government Relations Asia-pacific & Japan, Nokia

Chris Perera, Senior Director, Government Affairs and Public Policy, Asia Pacific, AT&T

Demand side:

Kuek Yu-Chuang, VP, International Business, iQIYI.com

Jean-Jacques Sahel, Asia-Pacific Information and Content Policy Lead, Google

10.00 – 11.00 am (Bangkok)

04.00 – 05.00 am. (UK)

13.00 – 14.00 pm. (AUS)

23.00 – 00.00 pm. (East Coast, US)

 

Session 2: Creating and Seizing the Opportunities offered for Digital Transformation – Case Studies

Though still in their infancy, products and services that use Big Data are being introduced across finance, healthcare, retail, transport, manufacturing, and agriculture – strategic industries that together drive the economic dynamism of both emerging and mature economies.

  • Agriculture
  • Healthcare
  • Smart Cities
  • Banking

Questions:

  1. How has Big Data revolutionised your industry and what will the direction be in the future?
  2. What is the challenge for Big Data in your industry supply chain?
  3. What impact has Big Data had on your industry  during the COVID-19 pandemic?

Moderator: Notachard Chintakanond, Executive Director, International Affairs Bureau, The National Broadcasting and Telecommunications Commission of Thailand (NBTC)

    • Dr Pakorn Apaphant, Executive Director, Geo-Informatics and Space Technology Development Agency (GISTDA), Thailand
  • Healthcare
    • David Hermawan, Country Digital Acceleration (CDA), Head of Industrie 4.0, Cisco
  • Smart Cities
    • Shinji Kawakami, Deputy Department Manager, Department of Policy and Planning, Aizuwakamatsu City, Japan
  • Banking
    • Thomas Abell, Advisor, SDCC and Chief of Digital Technology for Development, Asian Development Bank (ADB)

11:00 – 12.00pm (Bangkok)

05.00 – 06.00 am. (UK)

14.00 – 15.00 pm. (AUS)

00.00 pm. – 01.00 am.

(East Coast, US)

 

Lunch

12:00 – 1:00pm (Bangkok)

 

Session 3: Infrastructure and policy requirements to support Big Data      

What are the critical components to enable the growth of Big Data and what is its interrelationship with AI? To include comment on:

  • Infrastructure: Cloud, Broadband and fixed/mobile
  • Capacity Building
  • Building online trust and confidence

Questions:

  1. What should governments do to promote investment in Big Data?
  2. How can governments ensure skills are developed and not lost to other more developed industries?
  3. How can governments help to overcome resistance to and distrust of Big Data (and AI)?

Moderator:  Pratompong Srinuan, Senior Economic Expert, The National Broadcasting and Telecommunications Commission of Thailand (NBTC)

Speakers:

May Ann Lim, Executive Director, Asia Cloud Computing Association

Tidaporn Santimanawong, Senior Director – Technology Cloud Engineer, Oracle ASEAN

Hiroshi Amano, Deputy Director, Digital Economy Promotion Office, Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications, Japan (pre recorded)

Hisakazu Tsuboya, Senior Vice President & General Manager of 5G & IoT Business Department NTT DOCOMO, INC.

13.00 – 14.00 pm. (Bangkok)

07.00 – 08.00 am. (UK)

16.00 – 17.00 pm. (AUS)

02.00 – 03.00 am.(East Coast, US)

Refreshment

14.00 – 14.15 (Bangkok)

 

Session 4: The need for regulatory change and the regulators’ role

Do regulators have the means to prepare for the major technological opportunities offered by both 5G and big data, and what more do they need? How can governments (and regulators) ensure that all can benefit from these changes?

Moderator: Andrea Millwood Hargrave, Principal, Millwood Hargrave Ltd

Keynote Speaker:

Michel Van Bellinghen, Chairperson of BEREC (Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communication) 2021; Chairman of the Council, Belgian Institute for Postal Services and Telecommunications (BIPT)

Speakers:

Harin Grewal, Cluster Director (Networks, Technology & Resource), Infocomm Media Development Authority, Singapore; Executive Director, Singapore Network Information Centre (SGNIC)

Sanda Cheuk, Deputy Director-General (Telecommunications), Office of the Communications Authority, Hong Kong, China

Close: Andrea Millwood Hargrave, Principal, Millwood Hargrave Ltd

14.15 – 15.15 pm. (Bangkok)

08.15 – 09.15 am. (UK)

17.15 – 18.15pm. (AUS)

03.15 – 04.15 am. (East Coast, US)

International Symposium on 5G and Driving the Benefits of Big Data

Related Articles

Upcoming Webinar | Data Beyond Borders: Laying the Foundation for a Digital Global Economy
UPCOMING EVENT

Upcoming Webinar | Data Beyond Borders: Laying the Foundation for a Digital Global Economy

28 September 2021 at 1pm SGP/5am GMT

Enabling data flows can have a significant positive impact on the economy. Econometric modeling by McKinsey estimated that data flows...

Upcoming Online Conference | Conext Africa 2021

Upcoming Online Conference | Conext Africa 2021

20 October 2021 @ 11.30am GMT/6.30am EST/7.30pm SGT

The annual Digital Council Africa Conference aims to keep attendees updated on topics such as Fibre, 5G, Cloud and Data...